Guest Post: Editorial: Why PC Gamers Should Boycott Rockstar

The following piece is a guest blog entry. The views expressed in it are not necessarily those of Runway Games and are entirely those of the author. For more posts like this by the author, check out this page.

Editorial: Why PC Gamers Should Boycott Rockstar

This is my first official blog for Runway Games, but I am not going to pull any punches. It’s not my personality as a writer or as a person so in the words of a famous meme, “Brace yourselves.”

I’ve been a gamer for 28 years, a PC gamer for 23 years, and a PC enthusiast for 20 years. Those kind of credentials were earned through a lot of sleepless nights, a lot of Dr. Pepper (Now Coca Cola), and a lot of lost socialization in my formative years. Needless to say I have high expectations for my video games and my video game companies. It’s only fitting that I make my first blog post a rant about a company that has figuratively crapped all over the largest segment of gamers. My only question is: Why did you do it Rockstar?

Rockstar didn’t start out a console shill company. Oh no, quite the opposite. Rockstar’s first game was actually a PC exclusive(1). It wasn’t just a PC exclusive it was originally developed for MS-DOS and then PORTED to Playstation. That’s right the company now urinating all over the PC gaming community started out as a PC game maker. There is a little sadness in that irony.

Fast forward to 2008, after massive success on the games “Grand Theft Auto 3” and “Grand Theft Auto: Vice City” Rockstar put out “Grand Theft Auto IV.” The game made hundreds of millions of dollars, set sales records(2), and took the world by storm; after a 6 month delay. It was released in April for Xbox360 and Playstation 3, but PC gamers were relegated to waiting until December of 2008 before we could get our hands on it. Perhaps it’s just me but getting a game 8 months after its release date seems like old news and that’s probably why it only debuted as the 7th best selling(3) game the week it debuted. That wasn’t GTA IV’s only shortcoming. The game played horrible on even the best hardware. It was obvious the game had been poorly ported and rushed.

This kind of frustrating inevitability is what we have to come to expect from Rockstar as PC gamers. It’s now 2015 and I am reading article after article of PC gaming sites heralding Rockstar for giving us GTA V. Why? The game was released in September 2013 for 360 and PS3. It was released in November of 2014 for Xbone and PS4. Why are PC gamers last in line? We have the best hardware and statistically PC gamers spend more money and have more money than their console counterparts(4). PC gamers spent 20 billion dollars on video games last year(5).  Also, take into account that doesn’t include Steam, a group of 100 million gamers, because they don’t release their sales numbers. The number could be exponentially higher than that.

Let’s just put all that aside and talk about basic respect and loyalty for people that put you where you are. If it wasn’t for PC gamers Rockstar would never have made it past GTA 1. PC gamers are the ones who initially bought and played the game. We’re the ones who gave Rockstar the fiscal support it needed to become a monolith in the gaming industry.

I’ll leave you with this, a quote I made in my top ten games of all time list in 2006, “9. Grand Theft Auto 3 – Car Jacking, picking up prostitutes, beating up random people, and just causing citywide mayhem. I think this really doesn’t need much more of an explanation. GTA3 has saved police departments worldwide trillions in pent up aggression. Thank you Rockstar games Thank you.” I guess I shouldn’t have expected more from a company that profited off of violence and glorified criminal activity. What’s criminal is how they have treated the people that put them there. If you do anything this year don’t buy GTA 5, it’s akin to returning to a situation of domestic violence (I understand domestic abuse is serious and I am not downplaying its severity), just because they say they love us doesn’t mean they are going to stop abusing us. Stop going back PC gamers; it’s time to heal.

-Darkpriest667

Citations

1 Hamilton, K.R. (22 March 1995). Race’N’Chase Game Design.

2 http://www.ign.com/articles/2008/05/13/grand-theft-auto-iv-breaks-guinness-world-records-with-biggest-entertainment-release-of-all-time

3 http://www.shacknews.com/article/56384/weekly-pc-sales-a-slow

4 http://www.dailytech.com/NPD+PC+Gamers+Tend+to+Earn+More+Than+Console+Gamers/article36546.htm

5 http://www.gartner.com/newsroom/id/2614915

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: Editorial: Why PC Gamers Should Boycott Rockstar”

  1. Although I’m more of a console gamer, and always have been, I agree. It is hard to see a developer treat its other fans in this way. Rockstar has always seemed to do this to the PC players over the years. It isn’t just them though, a slew of other developers have done the same. Nice post, I enjoyed reading this.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Crazysnake, thanks I appreciate the feedback! I have no problem with consoles as a gaming device. As an entertainment medium it serves a great purpose in introducing people to gaming. I don’t even mind console exclusives. Many publishers have decided that PC isn’t where the money is and have decided to relegate them to “leftovers” if you will. That’s pretty funny considering all the data shows PC gamers spend a ton more money.

      I think the problem is the expectations of PC gamers is much higher than that of console gamers. Companies don’t want to meet those higher standards.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll agree with the companies not wanting to meet higher expectations, as we can see in most new games being released. I’ve had my fair share of playing on PC, I really enjoy picking it as a choice to play any RPG on, not counting a RTS. Lets face it, how many successful RTS games are on a console? Or even a MMO for that matter.

        I would like to add in a few other problems, mainly for the consumer. I think a big misconception is having to spend a ton of money for a gaming PC. We have to take in the fact that a lot of console gamers don’t know anything about building a PC. Thus leads to them not wanting to try, look into it, or even learn a thing or two.

        The next one is keyboard and mouse, which a lot of people have a problem with. I myself don’t mind it, I enjoy it the same. But this again leads to people not wanting to learn. It all comes down to things being easily accessible, which the basic mindset of console gamers is console= easy to mess with, PC= big frustrating mess.

        Of course that isn’t everyone, if it wasn’t for a few select exclusive titles, PC would be my main choice. Thanks for the reply.

        Like

  2. Crazysnake, thanks I appreciate the feedback! I have no problem with consoles as a gaming device. As an entertainment medium it serves a great purpose in introducing people to gaming. I don’t even mind console exclusives. Many publishers have decided that PC isn’t where the money is and have decided to relegate them to “leftovers” if you will. That’s pretty funny considering all the data shows PC gamers spend a ton more money.

    I think the problem is the expectations of PC gamers is much higher than that of console gamers. Companies don’t want to meet those higher standards.

    Like

Leave a Reply

