Employee Spotlight: Valerie Erb

Val Family

What is your favorite part of your job?

I love being involved with the social media stuff. I get to interact with some of the coolest people and stay up-to-date with nerdy news. I’ve also worked with Unity some, making terrains and stuff as I learn. It’s definitely made me look at games in an entirely new light.

What Games are you currently playing?

I just beat Dragon Age: Inquisition. I’ve been going back to 100 percent it, but it’s not the same. I’ve actually been exceptionally sad since I finished it. Any gamer knows what I mean. It’s the same feeling you get when you finish a great book. It’s a feeling of emptiness, loss. It’s also the sad realization you’ve got nothing else to do and now have to return to real life. I think Lord of the Rings described it best when Frodo returned from his journey. How can you go back to who you were once you’ve experienced a great journey? You can’t. You cannot be ordinary after you’ve been extraordinary.

Oh. And I’m still playing Destiny. Cannot say I’m too happy with the new updates, but I’ve got a good collection of exotics piling up. Add me on your PSN account – VerbaliciousVee!

What is your dream job?

My dream job? I would love to be a stay-at-home mom/person thing. The reasons why are different than most. I want to be a writer. Fantasy, fiction – that kind of thing. Unfortunately, that’s being unemployed until you get published. It’s so difficult to put aside enough time to write when you have a full-time job. I have a decent amount of backstory and a little bit of the actual story for something I started a few years ago, but with college, Army, and moving, I haven’t worked on it in quite some time. Or maybe I am just making excuses.

I also fancy myself a painter, and it would be nice to put in some time to get a big enough collection to make some money.

What are your other interests?

Well, I just said painting. Gaming, obviously. I use to call myself a modern-day Bard, mostly based off of my main character on a MUD I played, who was in fact a Bard. I love artistic expression – roleplaying, painting, reading, writing, music. I use to play French horn and was quite good at it. Unfortunately, I can’t afford my own.

I do love doing makeup, especially costuming makeup. Recently, I started trying to get into cosplay – the costume creation, the wigs – all of it. My first attempt is going to be Mad Moxxi.

I wanna throw horseback riding, fencing and LARPing in there, too!

What’s your favorite gaming memory?

This isn’t my –favorite-, but it’s the first one to come to mind. I use to be really, really involved in this MUD. SO many good memories from it; I still miss it. I played it for ten years, and between all my characters, I put over half a year of playing hours into it. Wow. That sounds bad when I say it out loud.

Anyway – I was reigning guildmaster of the Bards for several years. Maybe around six. Loved it! Bard elitism for the win! We use to have these mini-contests where I gave away virtual currency like candy (because I was an awesome GM). My favorites were always the pun-offs and the impromptu contests. One of my favorite ones involves a magical pig, a man dressed as woman, a nagging old lady, and a hairy man pretending to be a baby.

If you still miss it, why don’t you play anymore?

When I joined the Army, I knew I would have to quit. The game involves high activity. I knew they would hold my spot because Sealia and the Bards were almost synonymous. But then I met a boy completely unexpectedly. I had dated other people while playing Imperian and stayed active, but this guy made me wanna play real life instead. Maybe one day I’ll go back, but it won’t be the same.

Leave a Reply

